3rd Grade – Mrs. Brown

Welcome to third grade! Here we will be stretching ourselves, learning new skills, and forming relationships.

 

Contact Information

Aline Brown (Homeroom Teacher) – aline.brown@bacs.org

Linda Kees (Art) – linda.kees@bacs.org

Alex Rogers and Heather McCurdy (gym) – alex.rogers@bacs.org heather.mccurdy@bacs.org

Nathan Odhner (music) Nathan.odhner@bacs.org

Shannon Good and Kelly Austin (library) Shannon.good@bacs.org Kelly.austin@bacs.org

 

Weekly Schedule

3B Schedule 2021-2022

 

Curriculum

See the third grade curriculum at https://brynathynchurchschool.org/programs/curriculum-k-8/third-grade/ 

 

Homework

Homework for third grade should take no more than 35 minutes on weeknights, broken down as follows:

10 minutes activity (spelling or reading)

15 minutes reading

5 minutes journal

5 minutes recitation

 

Third Grade Programs and Events

Programs and event in third grade, give them a change to showcase their deep learning about a topic, and often families are invited to experience them as well. These include Hero Day (winter term), Mythology Plays (spring term) and Dinosaur Museum (spring term)

In addition, the third grade participates in a Grandparent Friend program. Each third grade writes letters to a grandparent-aged person in the community. We then invite these Friends to the classroom for events. This program allows the students to practice letter writing, polite conversation, and building relationships.

 

Field Trips

Third grade takes several trips that enhance their classroom learning. These include:

Insectarium (fall – insects)

Glencairn (winter and spring – Tabernacle and Greece/Rome)

Elmwood Park Zoo (spring – Reptiles and Amphibians)

 

Curricular Links

First Commandment in Hebrew (document) 

First Commandment in Hebrew (youtube video) 

Journal Prompt Generator

NASA for students

ISS Tracker

Hero Biographies

Moon phase website 

 

Top